Skip to content

DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control)


DMAIC is a Lean Six Sigma methodology that is used to systematically improve processes. The abbreviation stands for the five phases of the improvement cycle: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control.

Define: In this phase, the problem to be improved is defined and the objectives and boundaries of the project are set. The customer requirements are also identified and the most important success factors are determined.

Measure: In this phase, data is collected to understand and quantify the current state of the process. Metrics are defined to evaluate the performance of the process and baseline data is collected.

Analyze: In this phase, the collected data is analyzed to identify potential causes of problems or variations in the process. Various analysis techniques such as statistical analysis, cause-and-effect diagrams and hypothesis testing are applied.

Improve: In this phase, solutions are developed to address the identified problems and improve the process. Improvement ideas are tested and implemented to improve the performance of the process.

Control: In this phase, control measures are implemented to ensure that the improvements are sustainable and the process continues to deliver the desired results. Monitoring and control systems are put in place to ensure that the process remains stable.

DMAIC is a proven methodology for the continuous improvement of processes and is often used in various industries and organizations to increase quality, reduce costs and improve customer satisfaction.

Read our detailed article on Six Sigma here.

Start working with SYMESTIC today to boost your productivity, efficiency, and quality!
Contact us
Symestic Ninja